Gold FM

Search results: ''


News / Stay Home, Save Lives - waiata for Aotearoa

Stay Home, Save Lives - waiata for Aotearoa

Stay Home, Save Lives - waiata for Aotearoa

Posted April 14, 2020

Media Release: Loop Media NZ - Dan Clist

Created by over 20 artists in collaboration while in lock down, ‘Stay’ is a waiata created with one simple goal - encouraging the people of Aotearoa to “stay home, save lives”.

The brainchild of Te Māngai Pāho and Loop, the track & video were written, produced & recorded remotely by over 20 artists in just seven days, showcasing how New Zealanders are able to pull together in a time of crisis.

‘Stay’ was directed by Mikee Tucker, written and arranged by Anna Coddington, Rob Ruha, Scott Tindale and Brad Kora, Ara Adams-Tamatea, & Joel Shadbolt (L.A.B), with a wide range of sixteen vocalists featured throughout including -

Anna Coddington, Bailey Wiley, Hollie Smith, Ria Hall, Theia, Fran Kora (Kora), Jackson Owens, Joel Shadbolt (L.A.B), Kings, Logan Bell (Katchafire), Pere Wihongi (Maimoa), Rei, Rob Ruha, Stan Walker, Tiki Taane & Troy Kingi.

‘Stay’ is the final result, written, recorded & edited in seven days, remotely combining over 20 of New Zealand’s most exciting and well known artists together with a clear and simple message - “this isn’t forever, we’re in this together”.

All proceeds from ‘Stay’ will be donated to Music Helps, who are doing great things to help those in the music industry affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The idea for ‘Stay’ was inspired by the work of a Uganda music artist that Anaru Mill, head of government fund Manaaki, had come across in his mahi at COVID Command. Anaru suggested to colleague Te Atawhai Tibble that Kiwi artists should do one. Atawhai called Nadia Marsh, Kaiarahi Puoro at Te Māngai Pāho, to see what could be done. She engaged Mikee Tucker from Loop, and the project began to come together.

‘Stay’ Features

Anna Coddington*Bailey Wiley*Hollie Smith*Ria Hall*Theia*Ara Adams-Tamatea (L.A.B)*Brad Kora (L.A.B)*Fran Kora (Kora)*Jackson Owens*Joel Shadbolt (L.A.B)*Kings*Logan Bell (Katchafire)*Pere Wihongi (Maimoa)*Rei*Rob Ruha*Stan Walker*Tiki Taane*Troy Kingi